1st Festival Palazzetto Bru Zane Montreal

Après un rêve

The Romantic age constitutes a highpoint in the history of the cello. Given a place of honour by the leading composers of the time, the instrument broke free once and for all from the traditional accompanying role it had been assigned in the Baroque period and the Classical era that followed. Echoing the title of the concert, Emmanuelle Bertrand and Pascal Amoyel usher us in to this repertoire with the adaptation of Fauré’s famous mélodie, whose poem describes, in the form of a dream, the imaginary flight of two lovers who are head over heels in love… Each of the cello sonatas by Onslow, Duparc and Saint-Saëns demonstrate the evolution of French music in their own way: Beethovenian Germanism for the first, impassioned Romanticism for the second, and formal Classicism and tragic expression for the last.

Emmanuelle Bertrand Pascal Amoyel
Within the context of the 1st Festival Palazzetto Bru Zane Montréal

Concert program

Gabriel FAURÉ
Après un rêve
Sonate No. 1 for cello and piano
Sonata for cello and piano
Sonata No. 1 op. 32 in C minor for cello and piano


Emmanuelle Bertrand cello
Pascal Amoyel piano