M. Offenbach nous ecrit

M. Offenbach nous écrit
Lettres au Figaro et autres propos

Presented and annotated by Jean-Claude Yon

Series: Actes Sud / Palazzetto Bru Zane
480 pages | ISBN 978-2-330-11727-6 | 2018

Read the introduction of the book

In collaboration with Le Figaro

French book

The Actes Sud/Palazzetto Bru Zane collection — co-authored books, musicological essays, conference proceedings or archive documents — gives the floor to key actors and witnesses in the artistic history of the 19th century, as well as their present-day critics. Published at the rate of two to four books each season, the collection will examine many aspects of the French Romantic répertoire and the musical life of this period, focusing on the careers of famous or neglected composers as well as the history of the concert, musical genres and performers.

The author

Jean-Claude Yon
Spécialiste de la vie théâtrale sous le Second Empire et auteur d’une biographie de Jacques Offenbach (Gallimard, 2000), Jean-Claude Yon est professeur à l’Université de Versailles-Saint-Quentin et directeur d’études à l’École pratique des hautes études.